Future Dreaming

I pretty much lived with my Wolf for two weeks straight. We’re currently living in two different houses due to rental agreements, housemates, children and general shenanigans. It was a nice change. We’re horrifically domestic when we’re together and there’s certainly something to be said for waking up next to them every morning.

My dreams, for the last couple of weeks, have been quiet and pleasant. Generally of hopes for the future and big kitchens. Really big kitchens. We both love food so…

I dream.

Of home in different ways. Of painted skulls and hanging pots and herb, of orchards and greenhouses, of dinner parties and storms lashing trees. Of a fox beneath the gum, and paintings over a mantel piece.

Of my Wolf, The Wild One, as fierce and beautiful silver as he is now and more lined with laughter. We dance for no reason at all. Sometimes wild. Sometimes slow. Happy. There’s a key tattoo, sometimes on his ribs, sometimes on his forearm.

I am there. No taller, somewhat stronger sometimes, thinner others, as I am now but older mostly, but always with long hair. The tattoos are more prolific. My fingers ink dipped and lined, the right arm done, the ribs, the geometric designs on the left arm… up onto my neck and face. I don’t know that it’ll ever happen but I dream it with such clear clarity.

Sometimes I dream I paint him, and he paints me. Fingers tracing patterns without hesitation. It feels like we’ve done it before a few thousand times.

                                   Feral – Emma SanCartier                                        (Please click through for her wonderful etsy store)

I always wake content from these dreams, but they do make me wonder. What happens to my altar when we’re under one roof. As it is now I have no one to answer to and no children with curious hands so it is large and always up. Is it odd that of all the things this is the one I worry about as we move towards arranging a home for us together?

2 thoughts on “Future Dreaming

  1. I have had similar dreams. I hope they are not just wants, but perhaps a look at what your life holds for you. I know the issues you will be facing when it comes to having your altar – I have two very inquisitive children who have all but destroyed my altar. It is alright though, because when they play with those things I try to turn it into a lesson about what I believe, what the different things do and are used for. I look forward to reading more of your posts ❤

    1. I moved in last week would you believe. Altar space sorted. I’m very lucky that the ‘kids’ are actually young teens and not likely to get I to my things.

Leave a Reply

