New Year Witching

After midnight, by quite a bit, candles are lit and offerings are set out. He passed on commenting on the fact that I give them the expensive single malt I love so much. He doesn’t quite get that bit. He helped me carry the honey and milk, and water, to the bedroom for the second altar.


My New Year witching is simple. 

Offerings for the Dead (alcohol, water, honeyed milk)

Food for the spirits (Water and honeyed milk)

Candles for both. 

There would be hearts, but I think The Wolf would object in our bedroom.

Candles and well wishes for friends, family and loved ones. 

The candles on the Hearth altar are left to burn out over night

The night was spent with the same, my family of the heart and our friends. It was, as always, a warm and laughter filled night. Quiet, but wonderful. We eschew larger, more energetic gatherings for this little one, and have for several years now. Although I found myself wishing for the comfort of bodies pressed together in motion by the end of the evening. I think a festival would be nice for the next New Year. 

The new year brings a need, I think, to teach The Wolf about what I do and why. He tends to avoid involvement. Perhaps to explain why being referred to as his goddess tends to make me twitchy too. There’s some heavy work to be done. 

My hopes for the year are that it’s a year of happiness, of building strong foundations, of love, of joy, of creativity and the satisfaction of work done. My hopes are that you too have a year full of these things. 

May the road be kind to you.


This Is A Pagans Down Under Post

Leave a Reply

