Down the Rabbit Hole: The Seventh Gate and Beyond

He waits for me at the Seventh Gate, guised in his ram skull form. I don’t see this form often and I know to take it deadly serious. He is a God, not a spirit, and what he takes he can choose to keep if it serves me no purpose.

7008b36ea7a29b2898def4cf3f6692b8
Scumbugg vs. MDC by scumbugg

This one hurts, it turns out. I had figured it would be asked of me, but I hadn’t expected how much it would hurt when the time came. With my wedding band he takes from me my relationships – my friends, my family, my kids… My Partner.

There is no idle chatter, that will be left for the return. It is done, and I am devastated by the impact.

He sends me on…

There’s a break in the working here. I return to it a day later after having written everything down and started processing what had been and how I felt.

I return to where I left

hecate_by_canisalbus-db5m8kt
Hecate by CanisAlbus

off. Standing on the far side of the 7th gate. I continue down the path, black rabbit in arm, until I reach a river. The ferryman advises I bathe before crossing. I do, and I pay him the usual fare for taking me across.

I walk on, the landscape is different here. Rocky and blasted. It is here that I come face to face with the Lady of the Ways, Hekate. We speak, briefly, of altars and growth. She reassures me about what I have been doing so far for her and sends me on with the simple warning ‘It will be hard’.

And I find myself at the end, or is it the centre?

Leave a Reply

